Twelve EU Countries are demanding the Abolition of Roaming for the Balkans?

February 6, 2018 9:30 AM

Twelve member states of the EU want the Western Balkan countries to participate in the political meetings of EU before they become member states and they proposed the abolition of roaming for the region, as stated in a document submitted to the European Commission.

The European Commission will consider a new enlargement strategy today, and it will establish deadlines for the possible progress of states towards membership. Reuters also reported that the plan of further expansion will be announced “after years of neglect and increasing influence of Russia”.

However, they noted that they had an insight into the proposal of 12 member states, Austria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Poland, Slovenia and Slovakia, who proposed a step further and proposed regular annual summits with the leaders of Albania, BiH, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia.

In the proposal with a total of 12 items, these countries noted that the EU should allow ministers from countries in the enlargement process to participate in the highest meetings of EU bodies in the sectors of environment, health, transport and foreign policy.

“These are measures that will cost nothing but they have a large political impact and they would significantly improve the image of the EU in the region,” as stated in the proposal.

Moreover, the abolition of roaming was proposed for a region with 18 million citizens.





Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Modalert 200mg : Buy modalert 200