Who was wearing the Captain’s Track of the National Football Team?

Since 1993 until today, many players have been wearing the jersey of the national football team of Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH). There is a large number of those who at least at some point have had the honor to wear the captain’s track around arm, and that was influenced by various circumstances.

For example, recently in the United States, as well as at stay in Japan, Haris Medunjanin was wearing a track, for whom it can not be said to be the captain of the BH team.

There were nine “real” captains from the beginning until today.

It is important to note that in 1993, at the first unofficial game, Blaz Sliskovic was wearing the track. The captain of the first official game in Tirana in 1995 was Muhamed Konjic. Meho Kodro wore the track at the first match on the ground of BiH in 1996, and also against Albania in Zenica.

Captain of the first qualifiying game of BH team in 1996 in Kalamata was Mehmed Bazdarevic. It can be said that Mesa was actually the first “real” captain of the BH team. After his departure from the team, Meho Kodro became the captain.

After he said “goodbye,” the track ended in the hands of Muhamed Konjic. After Konjic, the track was for some time owned by Elvir Bolic. Since 2001, the captain of the national team was Mirsad Hibic, and after his departure in 2003, and for the next four years, the captain was Sergej Barbarez.

After the end of Barbarez’s representative career with the decision of Fuad Muzurovic, the captain became Zvjezdan Misimovic. After the qualifying cycle for the European Championships in Austria and Switzerland, Meho Kodro decided to entrust Emir Spahic with the track, who was the most successful BH captain considered by results. Spahic was the only captain of BiH at the major contests.

After World Cup ended four years ago, Safet Susic announced the decision to withdraw, and decided that the new captain should be Edin Dzeko. The Diamond is the captain of the BH national team even today. It is important to mention that the captains at several games were: Vlatko Glavas (Brazil), Hasan Salihamidzic (Luxembourg), Asmir Begovic (Israel) and Zlatan Bajramovic (Greece).



Leave a Comment