Government of Sarajevo Canton decided to end the Warning due to Air Pollution


The Government of Sarajevo Canton on Monday, at an extraordinary telephone session, decided to end the episode “Warning” of increased concentrations of pollutants in the air in all zones of Sarajevo Canton.

The Government of the Canton of Sarajevo, on the basis of the Plan, announced the aforementioned episode at an extraordinary session held on Saturday, December 07ththis year.

This decision was made by the Government on the basis that a decrease in the concentration of pollutants was observed and taking into account the weather forecast of the Federal Meteorological Institute which announces the destabilization of weather from Tuesday.

Measuring stations in Bosnia and Herzegovina’s (BiH’s) capital recorded less air pollution on Monday than Sunday, and according to the announcement by the Canton Sarajevo Government, on information from the Federal Bureau of Hydrometeorology (FHMZ) forecasting data.

According to the data of measuring stations On Sunday at 6 pm the air quality index was 116, at the City Hall 85, at Bjelave 115, at Bistrik 24, while the worst situation is at the measuring station in the circle of the United States Embassy in Sarajevo, 243, Klix.ba news portal reports.

The list of capital cities whose inhabitants breathe the most polluted air again shows us Sarajevo at the very top, and often in the leading position, Klix.ba news portal reports.

The measurement of the Swiss AirVisual.com, a network that collects data from 10,000 measuring stations around the world, at one point, just before 11pm, showed that Sarajevo’s air quality index was even dangerous, measuring 401.

Air is polluted in several other cities: Zenica, Tuzla, Lukavac, Jajce and Ilijas. The trend of deterioration of air quality has continued in the past hours, and an episode of “readiness” was declared for the entire area of Sarajevo Canton and at all measurement stations, the PM2.5 allowed values were exceeded.

Among the ten most polluted cities were Lahore (Pakistan), Delhi (India), Kabul (Afghanistan), Ulanbator (Mongolia), Kolkata (India), Dhaka (Bangladesh), Skopje (Macedonia), Sofia (Bulgaria) and Pristina (Kosovo).

Leave a Comment