CIK announces Preliminary Results of General Elections

Bosnia and Herzegovina’s (BiH) Central Election Commission (CIK) announced the preliminary results of the general elections on Sunday midnight here, showing results for three members of BiH presidency.

BiH voters are electing tripartite presidency, which represents the three major ethnic groups of Bosniaks, Serbs and Croats. When it comes to the Bosniak member of BiH Presidency, Sefik Dzaferovic, member of Party of Democratic Action (SDA) won with 38.0 percent. The winner of the Croatian member of BiH Presidency is Zeljko Komsic, a member of Democratic Front (DF) with 49.47 percent. Milorad Dodik (Alliance of Independent Social Democrats), with 55.15 percent of votes is the Serb Member of BiH Presidency, CIK stated in the preliminary results.

At the press conference, CIK president Branko Petric said that until Sunday midnight, 43.42 percent of ballots were counted, hence 741,599 voters.

Out of this number, 93.21 percent of ballots are valid ballots, while 6.79 percent of ballots are invalid ones.

On the second place from Bosniak member of BiH Presidency comes Denis Becirovic with 33.40 percent, Dragan Covic for Croatian member with 38.66 percent and Mladen Ivanic for Serbian member with 41.98 percent.

According to the official information, until 7 p.m., 53.26 percent of BiH citizens voted. This is, however, slightly less than the previous general elections, when the percentage was 54.47.

President and two vice presidents of Republika Srpska (RS), one of BiH’s entities, and its Assembly members, members of the BiH Parliamentary Assembly, Federation of BiH (FBiH) Parliament, and assemblies of ten cantons in FBiH will be announced on Monday, Oct.9, CIK stated.

Leave a Comment