Seven Former Municipalities to get the Status of Cities in the Federation of BiH

Delegates at the House of Peoples of Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina Parliament will have to approve laws on April 1st at the session of the House, which will give the seven former municipalities in the Federation a status of cities.

The city’s status will be given to Capljina, Ljubuski, Gradacac, Visoko, Gracanica, Srebrenik and Zivinice.

The Mayor of Visoko, Amra Babic, earlier stated that the status of the city opens many doors.

“We expect better and easier access to the European Union funds, especially IPA funds, and we are sure that the status of the city will enable access to these funds,” Babic said.

In order for one municipality to get the status of a city, it is necessary that it has 30,000 inhabitants, 10,000 in the small town core and to have a cultural and historical heritage, News Agency Patria writes.

Leave a Comment