Old Stone Bridge in Konjic is the Gem of Herzegovina!

March 4, 2016 10:00 AM

12804382_1118459571538331_980087179_nOn March 3 in 1945, the German occupiers demolished the Old stone bridge in Konjic, during their troops’ withdrawal. After this, a wooden and then a concrete-steel bridge were built, and in 2009 the bridge was renovated according to its original form.

A total of 2.408 blocks of tuff, more than ten tons of lead, and nearly five tons of iron cramps were built in the reconstructed Old stone bridge, and it was all secured with the mortar made as in old times, from sand, lime and ground brick.

Works on the reconstruction of the bridge began on May 12, 2006. The Old stone bridge has six arches, and it has been on the list of national monuments of BiH since 2003. On June 16, 2009 the Old stone bridge in Konjic was officially opened, and this event was attended by the Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan. Opening of the famous bridge that connects to banks of Neretva was symbolically organized on June 16, the Day of Konjic Municipality.

The original length of the bridge of 101.80 meters and width of 5.25 meters were kept. Total expenses of reconstruction amounted to around 5.300.000 BAM. This bridge is considered to be the spot where Herzegovina meets Bosnia, and along with the Stari Most in Mostar and the Bridge of Mehmed-paša Sokolović in Višegrad, it is one of the most beautiful edifices from the Ottoman period. It is worth mentioning that the Old stone bridge in Konjic was built in 1682, during the rule of the Sultan Mehmed IV, as the largest great Ottoman edifice in BiH, and it was built by Haseči Aliaga from Blagaj.

(Source: radiosarajevo.ba)

Tags:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Modalert 200mg : Buy modalert 200